It’s summer now…

…and the challenges we would face would be new and varied. Got a hint of this yesterday… It was quite stressful although I have a smile on me as I type this…

Imagine this….

7:30pm… Tuesday…the restaurant is set and ready and the first diners amble in…The captain takes their beverage order and serves it…Bottled water served chilled and two glasses of Mango juice… the drinks are being served and bang…power’ trips’… I look at my watch 7:40 pm… I cuss and get up to flick a match… cant find any… the laptop glows giving enough light…No &***^% matches… I scream…a cook hands me one.

” What’s wrong with the power?” I ask

“Genset karab ho gaya, sir!”

“Kya? Kaun Bola?”

“Woh neeche kaam kar raha hai sir…Bola Garam ho Gaya hai”

Push my chair back and rush down to see whats happening. I find a technician there… “Kya Hua Bhai?”… I mean…” Enna aachu da?” I ask… “Radiator heat ayicchu saar”… Damn I mutter again… “will it be fixed tonight…?” “Theriyaadu saar… complaint given saar…” “Tell them to get the checks done…” I mutter… “everytime there is a problem with your genset, and we would be having more power cuts in summer…” The genset belongs to fabmall and we are borrowing power from them…Of late there have been some problems with their generator…

Thankfully the power comes back… relieved and am walking back to the restaurant…Its a week day, Tuesday… diners are sparse…and we do about 10 tables for dinner on an average…so am not very tensed with the power situation… we could request for a take away if the power situation worsens or maybe even give them a candle light dinner… The power situation normally gets sorted out pretty quickly but in the last couple of weeks we have had a few long stints without power….giving us some anxious moments…

So, now with the power back I am climbing up the rear stair access and i hear a whoooooooooooooooooosh of a sound… wtf… I mutter and then it strikes me a nauseating and putrefying stench… The gas Bank… And I shout for the kitchen staff to get the keys to the gas bank… “The keys… The keys to the gas bank….” The gas is leaking I holler… Someone throws the keys… The stench is horrible… I am gasping as I struggle to get the key into the lock… finally managing to open it…. the whooooooooooooooooooosh is stronger the stench unbearable… I reach inside and shut the valve…. and then move back to the wall to catch my breath.

Random thots keep flashing in my mind…The guys had just serviced the gas bank and the range and given a clean chit…I fumble in my pockets to get my phone… hands shaking… My staff anxious are besides me now… “How many tables?” I ask… ” Four, sir”…”Ok, get inside tell the guests we have a problem…and also tell them it would take some time to fix…and there would be some delay in their food being served… you know the drill…” “Ok, Sir, he says and goes in”… “Ek delivery be hai Sir”… I hear the ordertaker…. whats the order.. I ask….”Mostly from the tandoor… also one gravy sir!” “Ok…. call the guest and tell them we have an issue and request them if we can send a tikka instead…” Moments later he comes back with a smile… I understand.

In the meanwhile I spoke to the service guy and he promises to be here as quick as possible…”mein auto lekhe aaonga sir… ” “Kaise bhi bhai Jaldi aa jaana”

The guests were polite and understood what we were going through… It was very kind of them to have waited for their meal… I was apologising to them when I saw a goup of ten walk in… The captain greets them and informs them of the situation… they look at the occupied tables… discusses among themselves and leaves… promising to return.

Damn I cuss again…

The service man arrives on time and fixes the gas pipeline by connecting the pipe directly after removing the valve… “Kya hua…?” “Valve phat gaya saab”… he says… “summer hai na”

The kitchen is back in action the orders are made and served quickly…guests have their meals… apologies are tendered and accepted…

Our Gas bank is located behind the restaurant on the ground floor and sits in GI sheet shed and is exposed to the outside… In winters the weather cools the gas inside the cylnders and reduces the pressure in the pipe – when we carry buckts of piping hot water to ‘Bathe’ the cylinders just to get them flowing again and in summers the heat generated enough pressure inside to puncture the valve in the pipe line

So much for summer pressure…

2 Comments »

  1. A Lawyer said

    And no swalpa adjust maadi?!

  2. Pradeep said

    Yes. There is swalpa adjust maadi…but for something a lil more than that…we need a lil more time…
    Thanks
    🙂

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Stats

  • Other stats

  • Last FM

  • Meta

